07 Nov 2012

Six coming for Sultan of Johor Cup


THE second edition of the Sultan of Johor Cup on Nov 8-18 will see Malaysia battle six strong teams in an effort to retain the title.

To date, India, Pakistan, Australia and New Zealand have confirmed their participation.


However, the change of dates by the Malaysian Hockey Confederation (MHC) has forced the withdrawal of Netherlands as they have domestic league commitments.

"We have also invited Great Britain as well as Germany for the second edition and they will reply in a week's time.

"The two standby teams are South Korea and Spain," said Johor HA deputy president Manjit Abdullah.

Early bookings have also been made for next year as teams look for warm-up matches before the Junior World Cup in New Delhi.

"Argentina and Netherlands have asked to be included in the third edition (2013), to be held in September, as the Junior World Cup will be held in November and it would be the perfect avenue for teams to fine-tune their game," said Manjit.

Malaysia beat Australia 3-2 to win the inaugural Sultan of Johor Cup gold medal.

Read 1136 times
Rate this item
(0 votes)