Australia bounced back from their opening match defeat to demolish Pakistan 6-2 at the Taman Daya Hockey Stadium. It was a clinical display of attacking hockey by the Aussies in the first half as they raised to a 4-0 lead in the opening 30 minutes.

Malaysia lost 4-2 against Great Britain despite coming back from a 2 goal deficit in the opening match of the Sultan of Johor Cup at the Taman Daya Hockey Stadium.

Defending champions India gave an impressive display by defeating arch rivals Pakistan 5-1 at the Taman Daya Hockey Stadium.

Debutants Argentina opened their campaign in the Sultan of Johor Cup with a hard fought 1-0 win over Australia at the Taman Daya Hockey Stadium.

Young defender Dipsan Tirkey is determined to produce a dominant performance when the India U-21 men's hockey team attempts to defend its crown at the 5th Sultan of Johor Cup at Johor Bahru, Malaysia from October 11 to 18.

Manipur lad Shanglakpam Nilakanta who has been selected as part of the India Junior Men Team announced for 5th Sultan of Johor Cup to be played in Johor Bahru, Malaysia between October 11 and 18 is preparing well for the challenge.

The PHF has decided that the junior team would stay in Malaysia after playing the 5th Sultan Johor Junior Hockey Tournament in order to prepare for the Junior Asia Cup 2016 which would be held there in November, ‘The News’ learnt on Monday. 

01 Oct 2015


Promising midfielder Harjeet Singh will lead the 18-member Indian junior squad in their title defence at the upcoming 5th Sultan of Johor Cup to be played in Johor Bahru, Malaysia from October 11 to 18. 

19 Oct 2014

India retained the Sultan of Johor Cup when they defeated Great Britain 2-1 in the final at the Taman Daya Hockey Stadium.

A goal 45 seconds from time gave India the title in a final where Great Britain were the overwhelming favourites.

Great Britain came into the final unbeaten in the preliminary round with a psychological advantage having beaten India 2-0 in their clash.

As for India, they were the defending champions and wanted to be the first team to win the title since the inception of SOJC in 2011.

Malaysia had won the inaugural title with Germany winning in 2012 and India last year.

India took the lead in the 45th minute through a penalty corner goal by Hermanpreet Singh, his seventh goal of the tournament.

Varun Kumar's attempt from a penalty corner in the 53rd flew inches wide and Great Britain gained most from that respite.

For Samuel French converted a penalty corner in the 55th minute and the two teams were level at 1-1.

Controversy erupted in the 62nd minute when Indian custodian Abhnav Pandey was green carded and an outfield player was taken off to bring on substitute keeper Subodh Tirkey was brought on.

And with 45 seconds left on the clock, India were awarded a penalty corner and up stepped Hermanpreet to duly convert and help India regain the title.

Australia defeated New Zealand 6-2 to finish third in the Sultan of Johor Cup at the Taman Daya Stadium.
The Aussies came out all guns blazing and it took them 14 minutes to set the goals flowing.
Simon Benetti scored two field goals in quick succession, first in the 14th minute and the second came the very next minute as they Oceania neighbours looked rattled.
James Benetti  made it 3-0 to Australia with a goal from open play in the 26th minute.
Craig Benjamin sealed an impressive half for the Australian with a penalty corner flick in the 28th minute.
The second half was a different story as the Kiwis played a more aggressive games.
Kim Kingstone pulled one back in the 37th minute. New Zealand looked like they could come back in to the match, Sanjay Lala sent a penalty stroke wide in the 41st minute.
The Kiwis got their second goal after Trevor Garrett sent his penalty corner flick into the roof of the net in the 54th minute.
New Zealand took off their goalkeeper for an outfield player to salvage the game but the move fired when they conceded a penalty corner and without their goalkeeper, Andrew Scanlon had little trouble increasing Australia's lead.
Skipper Will Gilmour completed the rout for Australia in the 69th minute.
Page 5 of 13